The Baham museum
Permanent exhibition
Country and history
Secret societies and religion
Costumes and textile art
Musical instruments
Receptacles and other containers
Kings and dignitaries
The artists
The figures of justice
Maternity, fertility and war
Architecture
Itineraries of the collective memory
Information

Costumes and textile art

In daily life, during dances and ceremonies, the Baham wear a great variety of costumes and symbolic, cultural or prestigious head-dresses, made from different fabrics, of which the richest in meanings and most important is ndop ( dzedouop) or souo’ (dze souo’).


The dja'bum society in action

There are several kinds of ndop in the Grasssland and with the neighbouring peoples, which vary according to the local name, the dye, the type of cotton, the overstitching in raffia, the type and production of the designs. The use of ndop (and probably its decoration) in Baham is believed to date from at least the 18th century.

Invaluable ancient specimens of costumes, makem, are preserved in the royal palace at Baham which were used in ritual ceremonies and which belonged to different periods but difficult to date.

Through analysis, it is possible to observe the evolution of the technique of ndop , which has improved over time to reach its current and most elaborate form. Ndop or douop is made from cotton. It is made from narrow strips sewn edge to edge and decorated with characteristic white patterns on an indigo blue background.
 
   

Artist decorating ndop or douop


 

The same decorative patterns (stylised animals, geometric shapes, moon, star, sun etc.) are found in basketwork, on wooden sculptures and in bead embroidery. To obtain this decoration, the artist sews very close stitched in raffia on the fabric, following the lines of the patterns that he has previously drawn out. The fabric will then be immersed into indigo to give it its blue background. Not even a drop of the dye must go through the seams, which will be removed when the fabric as dried. The white patterns of the decoration will then appear on the indigo blue background.

The white fabric is obtained in the north of the country by spinning and weaving cotton, which is then transported to the Bamiléké country, in particular to Baham, the main centre of production of the fabric dze douop. The cloth is decorated then sent to its place of departure where it is dyed indigo blue and lastly it is taken back to Baham where specialists do the finishing work (cut-outs and edges).

The notable wabo Dzuwa’, chief of la’kam, in a ndop costume

   

The decoration of the ndop with patterns is a real book where the message written by the embroiderer can be read in the signs. The fabric has many uses. It is used to make costumes such as the makem for the king, notables and secret societies only. It is used as the shroud that the body of the fe u is wrapped in for burial. The place where funeral ceremonies of important figures are held are decorated with lengths of nd op. Ndop has a very special symbolic value.


Use of ndop fabric during a funeral ceremony

     
     
     
     
     
   
     

Dance costume (makem)

[ Top page ]

Home The four museums The project Baham museum Bandjoun museum Mankon museum Babungo museum
baham@museumcam.org Copyright 2005 C.O.E. Powered by SYNUS

Le musée de Baham
Exposition permanente
Pays et histoire
Sociétés secrètes et religion
Costumes et art textile
Instruments de musique
Récipients et autres contenants
Rois et dignitaires
Les artistes
Les figures de justice
Maternité, fécondité et guerre
Architecture
Itinéraires de la memoire collective
Informations

Costumes et art textile

Dans la vie quotidienne, lors des danses et cérémonies, les Baham portent une multitude de costumes et coiffures symboliques, culturels ou de prestige, faits de différentes étoffes dont la plus riche de sens et la plus importante est le ndop (dzedouop) ou souo’ (dze souo’).


La société dja'bum en action

Il existe plusieurs sortes de ndop au Grasssland et chez les peuples voisins, variant selon l’appellation locale, la teinture, le type de coton, la surcouture du raphia, le type et la facture des dessins.L’emploi du ndop (et probablement sa décoration ) à Baham daterait au moins du XVIIIe siècle.

Au palais royal de Baham ont été conservés de précieux spécimens anciens, des costumes makem qui interviennent dans les cérémonies rituelles et qui appartiennent à des âges différents mais difficiles à dater.

L’analyse permet d’observer l’évolution de la technique de ndop, qui s’est améliorée au cours du temps pour aboutir à sa forme actuelle plus élaborée. Le ndop ou douop est réalisé en coton. Il est fait d’étroites bandes cousues bord à bord et décoré de dessins caractéristiques blancs sur fond bleu indigo.

 
   

Artiste décorant le ndop ou douop


 

On retrouve les mêmes motifs décoratifs (animaux stylisés, formes géométriques, lune, étoile, soleil, etc.) dans la vannerie, sur les sculptures de bois et dans la broderie de perles.Pour obtenir cette décoration, l’artiste coud des points très serrés en fil de raphia sur le tissu, suivant les lignes des dessins qu’il a précédemment tracées. L’étoffe sera ensuite plongée dans l’indigo pour lui donner la couleur bleue du fond. Aucune goutte de la teinture ne devra passer à travers les coutures, qui seront enlevées à tissu séché. Les motifs blancs de la décoration ressortiront alors sur le bleu indigo du fond.

L’étoffe blanche est obtenue au Nord du pays par filage et tissage du coton, puis transportée au pays bamiléké en particulier à Baham, principal centre de production de l’étoffe dze douop. La toile y est décorée puis envoyée à son lieu de départ où elle est teinte en bleu indigo, enfin elle est ramenée à Baham où les spécialistes y exécutent les travaux de finition (découpes et bordures).

Le notable wabo Dzuwa’, chef du la’kam, en tenue ndop

   

La décoration du ndop avec des motifs est un véritable livre où l’on peut suivre le message transcrit par le brodeur au moyen de signes. L’étoffe a de multiples utilisations. On l’emploie pour fabriquer des costumes comme les makem réservés au roi, aux notables et aux sociétés secrètes. Elle est utilisée comme linceul qui enveloppe le corps du feu décédé pour l’enterrer. On décore avec d’amples coupons de ndop la place où se déroulent les cérémonies funéraires des personnages importants. Le ndop a une valeur symbolique tout à fait particulière.


Utilisation du tissu ndop lors d’une cérémonie funéraire

     
     
     
     
     
   
     

Mannequin représentant un danseur de tseu

[ Page supérieure ]

Home Les quatre musées Le projet Musée de Baham Musée de Bandjoun Musée de Mankon Musée de Babungo
baham@museumcam.org Copyright 2005 C.O.E. Powered by SYNUS